

900 S.W. Jackson Street, Suite 600 Topeka, Kansas 66612-1212 (785) 296-3203 www.ksde.org

District 1 Dr. Deena Horst District 6

Janet Waugh

District 2

Melanie Haas Michelle Dombrosky District 3

Ann E. Mah District 4

Jean Clifford District 5

Ben Jones District 7

Betty Arnold District 8

Jim Porter District 9

Jim McNiece District 10

SUMMARY OF THE NOVEMBER 2022 STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION MTG

Action

- Approved 7 public school district ESSER II change requests, 16 ESSER III expenditure plan applications and 6 ESSER III change requests as recommended by the Task Force for use of federal COVID-19 relief funds.
- Approved Accreditation Review Council's KESA Recommendation to grant the status of Conditionally Accredited to USD #468 Healy, S0521 Lawrence Gardner High School Z0032-4727 Lakemary Center.
- Approved recommendations of the Professional Standards Board/Teacher Vacancy and Supply Committee Working Group to extend the expanded emergency substitute license until June 30, 2023.
- Affirmed the Kansas Advisory Council for Indigenous Education-Working Group Mascot Reform Statement and Recommendations to the Kansas State Board of Education and Kansas Board of Regents.
- Approved 2 new appointments to the Professional Practice Commission.
- In two separate votes, the Board approved all items on the consent agenda.
- Approved recommendations from the Graduation Task Force including new graduation requirements that will take effect with the graduating class of 2028.

Presentations

- Commissioner Randy Watson' monthly report to the Board focused on recognizing the work accomplished by efforts that began with previous Board members and carried out with the current Board and led to the rigorous standards that now exist for education in Kansas.
- Jane Groff and Tamara Huff (Kansas Parent Information Resource Center) along with Britton Hart (KASB) presented on the topic of family engagement in schools.
- Keith Lawing (Workforce Alliance of South Central Kansas, Inc.) and three other of the 5 KansasWorks Executive Directors provided an update on the Kansas WBL (Work Based Learning) project and shared an example from their local workforce boards on the WBL partnerships.
- Kaliko Oligo from ACT provided an update on state ACT and WorkKeys participation and results.
- 4th grader Jackson Bevan (Northern Hills Elementary Seaman USD #345) shared how he became a vacuum expert, established his own vacuum repair business and his future dreams in the vacuum industry.

- Broken Arrow Elementary, Mill Creek Elementary and Shawnee Mission East High School (Shawnee Mission USD #512) were recognized by the Kansas PTA as Schools of Excellence for 2022.
- Jay Scott (KSDE) presented one school system to be approved for accreditation status at the December meeting. That system is USD #377 Atchison County. (edited 11.22.2022)

Discussions

• Dr. Deena Horst and Ben Jones, KSBOE legislative liaisons, led discussion on KSBOE priorities for the 2023 legislative session.

Next Regular Meeting – Tuesday, December 13 and Wednesday December 14 in Topeka.